2 week Circle update WITH PICTURES

Alright! Two weeks have passed and I’m not as far in my painting as I’d like to be but I’m really pleased about my progress so far.  I decided I wanted to paint my circle with a winter theme (perhaps a Sonata Arctica influence haha) but I needed to find a color scheme that works well with snow.  My Cygnar army is already painted in a cold blue/grey scheme so I didn’t want to repeat that either.  I thought about real life examples of people who live in the cold all the time and Eskimos (or rather Inuit tribes) instantly came to mind.  A little google image searching gave me some good pictures to get inspiration from, this one in particular:    Pretty “cool” threads if I do say so myself /shot.  Anyway, I basically tried to impliment this color scheme and some of the patterns into my models.  The only model I have done so far that could exemplify this style would be Baldur (as the Wolds don’t really wear clothes heh.)  I based him off of the woman in the middle, using a lot of browns and white.  The camera I used to take these pictures isn’t that great close up so hopefully you can get the jist of it.

Yup, that’s snow on top of him.  Baldur’s model always seemed pretty static to me so I just picture him moving slowly across the battlefield as snow piles up on his cold metal shoulder pads.  That snow, and the snow on the base was made with a water/white glue/baking soda mixture as outlined on the Brushthralls website (http://www.brushthralls.com/basing/back-to-bases-2-cork-and-snow-2.html .) 

The next model I have finished is the Woldwyrd.  This guy was really fun to paint, I might just put more in my 500 pt list for this reason alone haha.  I basically used the speed painting Woldwatcher guide in NQ19 with a little frostbite at the end to make the stone look colder, and although it’s hard to make out in the picture, the “green glow” color that is commonly used on circle models I have changed to a dark red.  How about pictures already.

It’s made of stone and wood so snow be all up ons /shot again.  But I think the snow looks even better on this guy than on Baldur.  I did a little conversion with him too, I wanted to make it look like he was hovering around some rocks and I think it came out pretty well.  I actually pinned for the first time as the Wyrd isn’t attatched to the base save for a little bit of paper clip heh.  But anyway, that’s my progress so far and now that I have my scheme and method down I think the rest of the models will be finished soon.

 

One Response to “2 week Circle update WITH PICTURES”

  1. I like the look of these models so far. the snow is a great idea. I’m not sure if it’s your camera or your lighting but the pictures are very fuzzy.
    I think you’d get a much better picture of the models if you do them against a black background like a piece of black construction paper or a spray painted piece of cardboard. (especially with all the white on the models) You might want to try this out on the next model pictures you post. It works very well for people on the PP forums.

    Very nice job! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

